What If I Fail?

I just celebrated my 12th wedding anniversary.  I remember right after I got married, I was terrified to cook for my new husband.  I was not a great cook….I could boil water like a champ and I could make such favorites as macaroni and cheese with tuna mixed in….mmmm yummy.  My cooking skills definitely left much to be desired.

After I got married I knew I needed to learn to cook.  Fortunately for me, I am married to an awesome, patient and not very critical guy.  Here I was, watching food shows, reading recipe books, asking friends for help, but I always had a nagging question in my mind that really scared me. What if I fail?  What if this food is so nasty that my wonderful husband gags?  I will admit, I have had my share of epic fails in the kitchen where we literally tossed it and ordered pizza.  I learned from my mistakes, and eventually became a good cook.  Now my family eats well, or at least better than macaroni and cheese and tuna.

This story came to my mind today, as I prayed about starting a little business.  This business would not cost much to start, so there is little risk.  That being said the nagging question has been on my mind, “What if I fail?”  What a paralyzing question that can be.  Of course you have to consider risk in making any financial decision, but it certainly can’t be the only question to consider.  If you give that question to much weight, you’ll never try anything.  I felt the Lord gently correct me today by asking this question, “What if you succeed?”

Jeremiah 29:11New International Version (NIV)
11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Leave a Reply

