Very Berry and Orange Smoothie

This morning I woke up with a terrible sore throat.  I am not sure why, it could be allergies, since it is unseasonably warm here and the wind is blowing so hard that I am pretty sure we might get blown away.  It could also be a sign that it is time to fight off a cold.  Regardless of the reason, an ice-cold smoothie sounded really good on my sore throat.

When I first started making smoothies I used a smoothie recipe book, so I can have an idea of good proportions of fruits and veggies.  The recipe book also educated me on what health benefits are in various fruits and veggies.  Now that the book has given me an education, I am having a lot of fun inventing my own smoothies.  This is the smoothie I made this morning.  It tastes great and it has lots of vitamin C (go away sore throat!).

VERY BERRY AND ORANGE SMOOTHIE

1 Orange peeled and chopped

1/2 cup of Strawberries (you can use frozen or fresh here)

1/2 cup of Blueberries (Frozen or fresh are fine)

1/2 cup of Low fat vanilla yogurt

1/2 cup of kale (remove the stems)

1 cup of Almond milk (you can use whatever milk you prefer, milk from a cow and my tummy do not get a long)

A couple of ice cubes

Blend well.  If it is too thick add more milk or water.  If it is too thin add a couple of ice cubes.

This smoothie ends up being such a pretty color and it felt great on my sore throat.  I have heard a lot of people say that they are not so sure about drinking a “Green” smoothie but this is delicious and pretty.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

