MY ULTIMATE VALENTINE

Valentine’s Day and I have long had a love/hate relationship.  I remember a time in my life when I was sincerely lonely.  I remember before I gave my life to Jesus, Valentine’s Day was a reminder of the love I did not have in my life.  I would set a goal to attain a boyfriend before Valentine’s Day.  Yes, that is kind of embarrassing to admit, but I have a feeling that I am not the only one. Even when I succeeded, I still found this day depressing.  It was nice to get flowers of course, but still something was missing.

Even after I gave my life to Jesus, I still found it kind of depressing, a reminder of my singleness.  At the time I was permanently worried I was going to grow old and be alone.  I had known I couldn’t fill my heart with lots of cats or dogs, I am allergic after all.  Yes that is right, no crazy cat lady for me!  I felt sure that I was destined for being lonely.  I let my fear outweigh the fact that I already knew my Ultimate Valentine.  For anyone out there that is wrestling with this same fear let me take a moment and reassure you.

“For I know the plans I have for you, ” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11

After I got married, Valentine’s Day would always be fun right?  Well no, not necessarily.  My husband decided he got a get out of Valentine’s free card because our Anniversary is in February.  Yes, you got it, it still bummed me out, until one Valentine’s Day God showed me something.  You see I was depending on people to make Valentine’s Day special for me.  I had foolishly forgotten my Ultimate Love.  Take a moment with me, and let’s look at God’s definition of love.

Love is patient, love is kind, It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud,.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always persevered.  Love never fails.  1 Cor 13:4-8a NIV

Allow me to challenge you.   Insert your name in this scripture and see how far you can get.  Let me tell you how far I got….Sharon is patient……NOPE!!!  Good grief I couldn’t even get past the first line.  Sharon is kind, well sometimes.  Sharon does not envy….uhhhh yes I do!  You get the idea.  You see if you depend on a person to be that Ultimate Valentine for you, you are in for a disappointment.  The only one who loves you perfectly is Jesus.  My desire is to become more like Jesus every day and I hope I will eventually get past love is patient. Now when I think about Valentine’s Day, it no longer matters if the day doesn’t go perfect or my husband takes a get out of Valentine’s Day free card because I know Jesus loves me perfectly.

You know what is funny, right after I came to this understanding and was content on Valentine’s Day because Jesus loves me perfectly, my husband stopped using the get out of Valentine’s Day free card.  We don’t go crazy buying chocolate and roses usually but we do little things to express our love for one another.

This is what I received for Valentine’s Day.  My husband got up early before work and baked me blueberry scones for breakfast in bed.  I so love this man.  He is wonderful.  This was absolutely delicious.

20150214_095114

My daughter drew me a Valentine’s Day picture.  This is me and my favorite girl dancing under the lights.

20150214_095125

My son just gave me a big Valentine’s Day hug.  What else is needed?

20150205_163233

Thank you Jesus for blessing me with my wonderful family and for being my Ultimate Valentine.  May you all have a wonderful Valentine’s Day.

Leave a Reply

