Who Doesn’t Love Cherry Smoothies?

I don’t know about you, but I absolutely adore cherries.  I can’t think of many things I find more divine.  The idea of a cherry smoothie in the morning sounds like an absolute treat to me.  This morning I really wanted a treat for breakfast, so with that in mind, I came up with this awesome smoothie.  It is so pretty and it is incredibly decadent.

Vanilla Cherry Smoothie

1 cup chopped kale (stems removed)

1 cup of cherries (frozen or fresh)

1 cup of almond milk (you could use any type of milk here that you prefer, I just happen to preference almond milk)

1 tablespoon of ground flax-seed

1/2 cup of low fat vanilla yogurt

Blend the ingredients well.  This smoothie tends to be thick, so it may be necessary to add a little water.

20150217_111410Are you like me?  I am a chocolate addict!  it is probably one of my favorite things on earth.  A riff on the above smoothie involves chocolate!  What could be better?

Chocolate Cherry Smoothie

1 cup of kale with stems removed

1 cup of vanilla yogurt

1 cup of almond milk

1 cup of cherries (fresh or frozen)

1 tablespoon of cocoa powder

1 tablespoon flax seed

Blend the ingredients well.  Add water to adjust it to your desired thickness.  If you want this to be a little bit sweeter, feel free to add some honey.  You can also add less chocolate if you are like my husband, he never wants strong chocolate flavor.  I however love my chocolate, so give me my tablespoon please!

This particular smoothie is a wonderfully decadent treat.  It almost feels like you are being kind of naughty when you are drinking it, but it is oh so delicious.  In case you are curious, you will not notice the kale in it.  Kale has a very mild flavor and it is totally overpowered by the strong flavor of the cherry.

I hope you guys enjoy my take on cherry smoothies.  What do you guys like to put in a smoothie?

Leave a Reply

