My Cliff of Crazy.

Sometimes I really envy my husband.  He has an amazing ability to only think of one thing at a time.  He has a long lists of things to do, but he manages to do one thing, get it done and then move on to the next thing.  He stays pretty grounded and focused.  Me, not so much!  My brain does not do that naturally.  If you picture my brain like a computer, it has at any given time a window open for every single thing that needs to get done at any given time.  Most of the time, that works.  I have learned to manage it.

Then there are days like today.  I already have the normal stuff that I need to get done that are related to raising my two kids, taking care of my home, ensuring everyone is fed, that we don’t live in a total pig sty and home schooling  each day.  Then there are the not so normal things, planning field trips to the farm, planning kindergarten graduation, planning a birthday party, starting a business (there are about a thousand windows in my brain open just related to this one, it is big), researching homeschool curriculum….and you have a recipe for total circuit over load.  I feel like I don’t know what end is up or what to do next.

I approached my husband and said, “Ok honey, talk me down from the cliff!”  He is so loving and good to me.  He calmly helped put things in perspective.  I am going to make a list of tasks that need to be done, and simply start going down the list, at whatever pace I can.  He reminded me that my first job is to simply be faithful to the things God is calling me to do in my life and I don’t have to go at a break neck speed, striving to get it all done immediately.  That calmed me some, but I still was having the feeling that I just don’t know if I can do it all.

I don’t know how many people go through this, I would like to think that it is common and thus making me not crazy.  I get overwhelmed easily with new things.  When I get overwhelmed, it is hard for me to function in general.  The new things I need to do can overwhelm my thoughts to the point that it is hard for me to think of the normal things I need to do on a daily basis.

After my wonderful husband took the time to talk me down from my cliff of crazy, I realized I need to take some time and allow the Lord to encourage me in these new ventures.  I want to share this for any of you that are teetering on the edge of your own cliff of crazy.

I felt like the Lord led me to Psalm 18 today.

Psalm 18:1-2 says this, “I love Thee O Lord my strength. The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

This by itself was super encouraging.  Just knowing that the Lord has my back so to speak encouraged me a great deal.  The Lord didn’t stop there.

Psalm 18:31-33  For who is God, but the Lord? And who is a rock, except our God, The God who girds me with strength, and makes my way blameless? He makes my feet like hinds’ feet and sets me upon my high places.

Psalm 18:36 Thou dost enlarge my steps under me, And my feet have not slipped.

My wise husband often tells me that God will never give me more than I can handle, but He doesn’t give me less either.  I think my husband is right about that.  God wants to give us enough of a challenge so we grow.  If he never challenged us, I guess we would probably be pretty stagnant.  Thank God that He promises us that he is our rock, our strength, our deliverer, our salvation and our stronghold.  He also promises us that he will gird us with His strength and make our feet like hinds feet!  Whatever is overwhelming you today, take it to the Lord.  He will give you the ability to walk through it.  Blessings to you.

One thought on “My Cliff of Crazy.

  1. “If you picture my brain like a computer, it has at any given time a window open for every single thing that needs to get done at any given time.” YES! I’ve thought that about me, too, and also that I really could use an external hard drive. Is that what they call it, when the computer slows down b/c doing too much? Ha!

    Thank you for sharing this, Sharonah! I just read almost the same verses in 2 Samuel 22, where David rejoices in the Lord’s deliverance and strength. May be a word just for me? Hope so!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

