For My Nanny

Christmas, Wedding, Suns Game 002

My Nanny always wanted to be called Nana when she became a grandmother.  My sister, her oldest granddaughter, had something else in mind.   My sister insisted on calling her Nanny from the time she could talk, and somehow the name Nanny stuck.  Thus, she became Nanny instead of Nana.  The name Nanny to this day just feels like the right name for her.  She was loving and kind, generous and warm, and unique.  She is everything that her unique name, Nanny embodies.

On Monday, I received a call from my brother.  He told me that I needed to go see her.  He said she wasn’t doing well.  I loaded the kids in the car, and within about fifteen minutes we were on our way.  She lives in a different city, so it took a bit to get there but I saw her on Monday night.  She looked weak and frail.  However, she was alert and we had a lovely visit.  I left feeling grateful because although she was weak, in my mind with some proper care she was going to be ok.

On Wednesday, I got a call from my dad.  She took a major turn for the worse Tuesday night.   We again left as quickly as we could to go and visit her.  This time, there was no relief.  She apparently had a major stroke the night before.  She didn’t look like herself.  She was not able to speak and as the day wore on, she was no longer even aware of her surroundings.  Her heart rate was ever decreasing, she stopped eating and drinking.

My entire family was there surrounding her.  We sang praise and worship music, which seemed to be soothing to her, we cried and sometimes we laughed a little bit as we remembered some of the silly things she has done.  I knew on Wednesday that she likely wouldn’t last much longer.

On Friday she passed on. My heart broke, as I can’t imagine life without hearing her voice.  My Papa and Nanny were married for 65 years.  They have been together since they were kids.  I am not sure what Papa is going to do without her.

As my heart was breaking, and through my tears, my five-year old daughter shed light on this for me.  She asked me why I was sad and I explained that Nanny had just passed on.  I explained to her that I was going to miss her.  My daughter asked if Nanny had loved Jesus.  I told her that she loved Jesus with all her heart.  My daughter said, “Then why are you sad, mommy?”  I told her it is because I love her and am going to miss her.  My little girl said, “Shouldn’t we celebrate?”  I asked her, “What do you mean?”  She said, “She loved Jesus so she is with Him in heaven.  She is happy and she doesn’t have those ouchies any more.  We should be happy for her.”

Isn’t it amazing how the Lord can speak truth  to us through children.  I immediately felt comforted because I know that she is right.  I know that my wonderful Nanny is in heaven with Jesus, praising him. I know that she is no longer in pain and that I am going to see her again.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.  Matt 5:4

Thank you Jesus for bringing comfort.  Thank you Jesus for allowing me to have the most wonderful Nanny, a girl could ever ask for and for allowing me the opportunity to visit with her one last time.  Thank you for speaking to me through the words of my little girl.

One thought on “For My Nanny

Leave a Reply

