Strawberry Pumpkin Smoothie

I absolutely love drinking green smoothies for breakfast!  I have been drinking green smoothies for breakfast regularly for almost a year and it has really helped me with my energy level.  I think the biggest difference I have noticed is that as long as I drink a smoothie, I don’t crave foods that are super high in sugar and caffeine.  I don’t feel as tired and I find that I am able to think clearer.  If you are new to drinking green smoothies one thing that is important to remember is that what you put into the smoothie is very important.  You should try and avoid adding extra sugar if at all possible.  The fruit provides natural sugar.  The quality of the ingredients has a major impact on how much better you will feel.

I don’t know about you but I am all about experimenting with what I put in my smoothies.  Around my house, this time of year we have lots of pumpkin puree around the house after roasting the pumpkins we carved for Halloween.  I have personally never put pumpkin in my smoothies before but today I thought why not give it a shot.

Strawberry Pumpkin Smoothie

1 cup of Kale

1/2 apple

1/4 cup of pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling!)

4 strawberries (if your strawberries are frozen you won’t need ice, if they are fresh you will need some ice)

1 cup almond milk (you could use any milk you prefer)

1/2 cup of lowfat greek yogurt

1 tspn of ground flax seed

1 tspn of ground cinnamon

Combine all ingredients in your favorite blender and blend until smooth.

This smoothie is packed full of fiber, vitamin A and vitamin C.  Since it has so much vitamin C and Vitamin A this is a good smoothie to drink to help build up your immune system.  This smoothie is also good for your vision.  Pumpkin has nearly twice the amount of your recommended daily allowance of Vitamin A.  Vitamin A  is found to have health benefits for your eyes, skin and teeth.  The yogurt and milk have protein to help you feel full and also has calcium.  After drinking this smoothie, I felt an amazing burst of energy that lasted long after any caffeine would wear off.

I hope you enjoy this recipe.

Leave a Reply

