Are You In Need of Wisdom?

Are you in need of Wisdom?  It doesn’t matter what area of your life that you are in need of wisdom…it could be really in any area of your life.  For me, I have really needed wisdom in regards to how to help my son in one area in his life.  He has really struggled substantially with feeling mad about everything that didn’t go his way.  I’m not sharing this to get judged on my parenting skills.  Let me tell you, I am the first to admit that I am not the perfect parent.  This area of his life has been troubling to me.  I have so wanted to help him.  Telling a four year old that he shouldn’t be mad so much does absolutely no good (in fact when I have heard myself say that or something like that I usually feel like an idiot but out of desperation I say something along that line anyway).  I’ve really started praying and asking the Lord for wisdom as to how to help him.

The Bible says that whenever you need wisdom to ask God.

If you need wisdom, ask our generous God, and he will give it to you. He will not rebuke you for asking. 6But when you ask him, be sure that your faith is in God alone. Do not waver, for a person with divided loyalty is as unsettled as a wave of the sea that is blown and tossed by the wind. James 1:5-6 NLT

According to the Bible, if you need wisdom and do not waver in your faith in God, He will give you wisdom generously!  It does not say he just gives you a tiny drop.  How awesome is it to know that God gives you wisdom generously.

Tonight as I was sitting in church, God really answered my prayer.  My heart cry has been God how do I help my son be happy and not upset all the time (when I say all the time, I really mean it).  I felt like God pinpointed an issue for me to help teach my son.  I felt like the Lord showed me that I need to teach my son to cultivate a thankful heart even when things aren’t going his way.  There is a lot of truth in this.  The start of having joy in your heart is being thankful.  Sometimes, when you really aren’t thankful you have to go back to the most basic things you can think of to be thankful for and work from there.

Let me tell you, it did not take long for me to put this new gem of wisdom into practice for my little guy.  We got in to the car and within a few seconds my son was mad at my daughter because she made a noise or something.  Really she doesn’t have to do much to make him mad.

Here it is, my open door…I asked my kids this question, “Hey guys what do you think the Bible says about how to have a happy heart even when you are maybe having a bad day?”

My son said, “I AM NEVER HAVING A HAPPY HEART AGAIN!”  At the moment, everything for him is going to last forever.

I said, “Boy buddy, that is a bummer. I don’t think that is what Jesus wants for you.”

My daughter said, “I think the Bible says to spend time with God to have a happy heart.”

I told her that she was right and it also says that Jesus wants us to be thankful.  I asked my son if he could think of one thing he was thankful for and he of course said, “I’m never going to be thankful again!”  Back to everything being forever…

I asked my daughter, “What is one thing you can think of that you are thankful for?”

She said, “I’m thankful for my new mermaid doll.”

I told her that is a great thing to be thankful for and told the kids that I am thankful for being their mommy because I think they are great.

We continued this activity for the rest of the car ride.  We started out taking turns naming something we were thankful.  Eventually my daughter was upset because my son wouldn’t stop naming all the things he had to be thankful for.  I reminded her that it is a good thing that he is so thankful and then helped her squeeze in why she was thankful.  When we got home, I asked him “How is your heart feeling son?”

He said, “Mommy I have a happy heart!”

Tonight, I am very thankful that God gave me wisdom as to how to help my son find reasons to have a happy heart.  Please know that I get that anger is a valid emotion but there is a point when it is ruling things and making you just flat out unhappy.  Unfortunately, that has been where my son has been and thus the reason for my concern for him.

I asked God and He gave me the wisdom to help my son.  I truly believe that although this will take time, with consistency he can learn to be thankful.  With thanksgiving, comes joy.

Whatever you need wisdom for today, remember to stop and ask God.  He’ll give it to you!

Leave a Reply

