PRAYER IS THE MOST YOU CAN DO

Today, I found myself feeling overwhelmed and small, as I read of the devastation that has gone on around our world.  Between all of the hurricanes, the fires, the earthquakes, the flooding, and of course the constant threat of nuclear war, I found myself feeling helpless and tiny.   I felt like, I want to help all of these people some way, some how.  I donated money to Convoy of Hope but my little bit doesn’t seem like much in comparison to the vast need around the entire world.  Don’t get me wrong Convoy of Hope is amazing but I want to do more.  (If you are interested in donating to the relief efforts visit Convoyofhope.org).

In my feelings of inadequacy and helplessness I cried out to the Lord.  I poured out my heart and told The God of The Universe how much I want to ease the suffering but I don’t feel useful.  I have limited money and resources.  Then God spoke to me in my distress and gave me direction and comfort.

The Bible says this, “God is our refuge and strength, an ever present help in trouble.  Therefore, we will not fear though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging.  Psalm 46:1-3

God is our help in times of trouble.  I don’t have to fix it.  I will contribute whatever I can of course, but God is God.  He is the best help.  The Bible says, “Be still and know that I am God.”

In this time of devastation across the world, this time of scary news stories, of people suffering, may I encourage you to pray!  Hit your knees and cry out to God.  God hears our prayers.  If you are somehow being affected by these issues in our world, please know that Jesus loves you! I personally love you and am praying for you and so are millions around the world.

Leave a Reply

